LISTENING TO YOUR INNER VOICE!

WRITING photo: Writing Cat Writingcat.gif
That used to annoy me, that ‘inner voice thing.’ As it is, I think writing pushes us ever closer to the edge: the edge of reason, sanity, etc!

Go away for a week or more and you’ll find all of your carefully planned intentions were not adhered to. NOT ONE! As I was 3/4 into my latest book, I decided: I WILL RE-READ ALL I HAVE WRITTEN THUS FAR SO ‘IT IS FRESH IN ME MIND.’

TRUTH: I didn’t! Not one page–not one paragraph! Why? I forgot?

Still not sure if that’s true or not. Let me just say I didn’t do it.

CONSEQUENCES: I will have to start writing tomorrow. How I pick it up again is another blog post!

I really know what I was up to. I feel what I was up to as the characters are very real to me. But it’s still hard. Am doing laundry as we ‘speak.’ Have lots to catch up on, still…I will not fail!

I thinkthat my characters just waited. They may have gone to sleep or passed into a kind of literary coma (hey! i have those all the time when I’m up)!

They love me, they know they will go into terminal limbo without me, so they have learned to be patient.

ME: I PROMISE I WILL WRITE TOMORROW!

THEM: OKAY, BUT DON’T FORGET.

ME: I WON’T.

THEM: WE’RE PATIENT, BUT WE HAVE WAYS OF MAKING YOU SUFFER!

ME: DON’T I KNOW IT!

Okay, to be resumed–just going to chill this evening and write tomorrow!

To be continued! 

One response to “LISTENING TO YOUR INNER VOICE!

Leave a Reply

