Gothic Romantic Fiction, The Darker The Better?

MARSocial Author Business Enhancement Horror Post

juliet Juliet Binoche in Wuthering Heights (1992)

Do you take it dark with a twist of weird on the side? I do! Why is that? Why do many of us find Heathcliff (Wuthering Heights) so compelling? Why are we caught up in his angst? Remember the horrific scene when he opens Cathy’s coffin? We condemn it, it’s too awful to contemplate but we understand his awful dilemma: he cannot bear the world without her!

.
I’m a big believer in using my characters’ motivation to write my fiction. My fiction is character-driven and my character’s reasons for doing things give me the story. I don’t write with an outline. My characters show me the way.
With regard to Heathcliff, I believe Wuthering Heights is what it is because we understand the character’s motivation.
However Emily Bronte wrote her classic novel, she was well aware of motivation affecting the plot. Angst, heart ache, desperation are the ingredients…

View original post 282 more words

Leave a Reply

