Death, The Opposite of Desire

streetcar

 

I am writing about death and desire today. Keep reading, there’s a surprise for you!

My favorite play is A Streetcar Named Desire, not horror at all or is it? It is a kind of horror. It is horror for the character, Blanche DuBois, who is teetering on the edge of madness. Blanche has come to visit her sister hoping to avoid plummeting into the abyss. She’s hedged a bet that all will go well. It’s her last chance too and she knows it. Her sister’s married and Blanche hasn’t met the husband. Sadly, Stanley Kowalski is her own, personal devil, in this, her last visit before the madhouse.
This is a play to be savored for many reasons. One of which is my very favorite line in which Blanche states:

“The opposite of desire is death…!”

Makes sense to me, but what of the undead? Can they love? I think they can. Yet, I do not think that capacity for love within the tortured, undead beings who spring from hell, is pleasant. It’s a kind of death, living death–and it’s worse because of the desire and passion they have.

My character, Louis Darton is one such tortured being; loving and desiring yet not wishing to drag forth a girl, he loves, into his undead world. My novel, The House on Blackstone Moor has this love and desire as its central point. There is love amongst the damnation, a yearning for something beautiful. That yearning is desire, the opposite of death for vampiric creatures; existing and loving and desiring in their undead world. What could be more tragic? Yet it is fascinating. And because it is, it becomes an addiction for so many of us, and what is an addiction really, but a kind of desire? Desire and death, perhaps not opposite at all in the world of the undead!

Here is an excerpt:

“But now there are other memories to recall, memories of Louis and the feelings I had for him, feelings that were just beginning to blossom into something deeper and unforgettable. And Louis—he who had always felt damned had of late, he swore, found love with me! Yet it tore him up, for he would always feel cursed by nature or God or whatever he or anyone wished to call the source of that damnation.

 How I prayed that I might be able to recall his face, his touch, his voice.

But there were complications. It began to be difficult for me to think of him for I found I could not think of him without recalling Dr. Bannion and Eco, as well. Dr. Bannion and his terrible confessions to me, how evil that was, evil and unforgettable.

 If I’d thought my father merely evil, I thought worse of him now. For I learned to see him as the lowest, most insane and depraved sort of being, a monster who had not only assaulted his own daughter but had given her up to another monster. How did such beings exist?”

 (End of excerpt)

 

Now for the surprise!

The House on Blackstone Moor is on offer at Amazon. It’s Book 1 in The Blackstone Vampires Series. For a limited time: it can be purchased for 99 cents, beginning Sunday April 6th.

This is the 2nd edition of The House on Blackstone Moor, the novel which begins Carole Gill’s Blackstone Vampires series. Published by Creativia.

Named As One of Top 10 Books – 2013

Aoife Marie Sheridan – ALL THINGS FANTASY

Publisher, Ultimate Fantasy Books 

 

AMAZON                 AMAZON UK

 

 

Leave a Reply

